Towards Sustainable Management of the Boreal Forest

  • Auteur: Philip Joseph Burton
  • ISBN: 9780660187624
  • Date de sortie: 2003
  • Collection: NRC Research Press
  • Total Download: 7448
  • Total Read: 7323

Télécharger Lire


Presenting a summary of the development in boreal forest management, this book provides a progressive vision for some of the world's northern forests. It includes a selection of chapters based on the research conducted by the Sustainable Forest Management Network across Canada. It includes a number of case histories.

Boreal Futures Governance Conservation and Development in

  • Auteur:
  • ISBN:
  • Date de sortie:
  • Collection:
  • Total Download: 4916
  • Total Read: 6850

Télécharger Lire


Ecosystem Management in the Boreal Forest

  • Auteur: Sylvie Gauthier
  • ISBN: 9782760523821
  • Date de sortie: 2009-01-01
  • Collection: PUQ
  • Total Download: 9855
  • Total Read: 1763

Télécharger Lire


Boreal Forest and Climate Change

  • Auteur: Pertti Hari
  • ISBN: 1402087187
  • Date de sortie: 2008-09-24
  • Collection: Springer Science & Business Media
  • Total Download: 9616
  • Total Read: 8998

Télécharger Lire


The Forest Primary Production Research Group was born in the Department of S- viculture, University of Helsinki in the early 1970s. Intensive ?eld measurements of photosynthesis and growth of forest vegetation and use of dynamic models in the interpretation of the results were characteristic of the research in the group. Electric instrumentation was based on analogue techniques and the analysis of the obtained measurements was based on self-written programs. Joint research projects with the Research Group of Environmental Physics at the Department of Physics, lead by Taisto Raunemaa (1939–2006) started in the late 1970s. The two research groups shared the same quantitative methodology, which made the co-operation fruitful. Since 1980 until the collapse of the Soviet Union the Academy of Finland and the Soviet Academy of Sciences had a co-operation program which included our team. The research groups in Tartu, Estonia, lead by Juhan Ross (1925–2002) and in Petrozawodsk, lead by Leo Kaipiainen (1932–2004) were involved on the Soviet side. We had annual ?eld measuring campaigns in Finland and in Soviet Union and research seminars. The main emphasis was on developing forest growth models. The research of Chernobyl fallout started a new era in the co-operation between forest ecologists and physicists in Helsinki. The importance of material ?uxes was realized and introduced explicitly in the theoretical thinking and measurements.

Paddling the Boreal Forest

  • Auteur: Max Finkelstein
  • ISBN: 9781770706682
  • Date de sortie: 2004-11-29
  • Collection: Dundurn
  • Total Download: 8144
  • Total Read: 7563

Télécharger Lire


The boreal forest of Quebec/Labrador – some of the most rugged and isolated land in Canada – has captivated avid canoeists for generations. In the latter 19th and early 20th centuries, the intrepid A.P. Low of the Geological Survey of Canada spent, in total, more than ten years of his working life surveying the area. Employing Aboriginal canoemen and guides, he travelled by canoe, snowshoe and sailing vessel to map and document much of this vast territory. Challenged by the mystique of this extraordinary Canadian, canoeists Max Finkelstein and James Stone retraced Low’s routes – by their admission, their toughest canoe trip ever! Using archival sources, oral history and personal experience, they tell the story of A.P. Low and, in the process, reveal the environmental issues now facing this much threatened Canadian wilderness. "Once again Max Finkelstein has blessed us with his incredible ability to make history of exploration come alive. Rather than sit behind a desk and try to imagine the ’misadventures’ Low would have had, he goes out and duplicates them, and along the way creates a few tales of his own. This is one great read and we should be thankful that people like Max and Jim Stone exist in this world of ours." - Kevin Callan, well-known author and canoeist "From A.P. Low’s logs and reports, Max Finkelstein and Jim Stone give vitality to that great geological surveyor. Interspersed are vivid accounts of their own challenging canoe voyages on the same rivers and portages of the boreal forest and rock in the James Bay/Ungava/Labrador country of the Cree, Innu and Inuit. What emerges is an eloquent testimonial for the wilderness canoe trip in the Canadian experience." Bruce W. Hodgins, Emeritus Professor of History, Trent University; President, Camp Wanapitei; Member, Advisory Council, Canadian Canoe Museum

Importance of Canada s Boreal Forest to Landbirds

  • Auteur: Peter J. Blancher
  • ISBN:
  • Date de sortie: 2003
  • Collection: Canadian Boreal Initiative
  • Total Download: 4273
  • Total Read: 4325

Télécharger Lire


Of This Earth

  • Auteur: Rudy Wiebe
  • ISBN: 0307373479
  • Date de sortie: 2009-06-12
  • Collection: Vintage Canada
  • Total Download: 9975
  • Total Read: 3448

Télécharger Lire


A beautiful, moving memoir of a boy’s coming of age, infused with a deep love of the land, from one of Canada’s most cherished and acclaimed writers. In Of This Earth, Rudy Wiebe gives vivid life again to the vanished world of Speedwell, Saskatchewan, an isolated, poplar-forested, mostly Mennonite community – and Rudy’s first home. Too young to do heavy work, Rudy witnessed a way of life that was soon to disappear. And we experience with him the hard labour of clearing the stony, silty bushland; the digging out of precious wells one bucket of dirt at a time; sorrow at the death of a beloved sister; the disorienting searches for grazing cattle in the vast wilderness sloughs and the sweet discovery of the power of reading. Rare personal photographs (reproduced throughout the book) and the fragile memories of those who are left give shape to the story of Mennonite immigrants building a life in Canada, the growth and decline of the small Speedwell community, the sway of religion, and a young boy’s growing love of the extreme beauty of the aspen forests – as well as how all these elements came to inform his destiny as a writer. A hymn to a lost place and a distant time, Of This Earth follows the best of memoirs in the tradition of Sharon Butala’s The Perfection of the Morning and W. G. Sebald’s Austerlitz. It is an evocation of the Canadian west that only a writer of Rudy Wiebe’s powers could summon. From the Hardcover edition.
DMCA - Contact