Ink

  • Auteur: Amanda Sun
  • ISBN: 037321071X
  • Date de sortie: 2013-06-25
  • Collection: Harlequin
  • Total Download: 5785
  • Total Read: 7494

Télécharger Lire


Moving to Japan in the aftermath of a family tragedy, Katie develops feelings for kendo team star Tomohiro while observing how strange things happen with pens, ink, and drawings whenever they are near to one another.

INK

  • Auteur: Alice Broadway
  • ISBN: 1407177451
  • Date de sortie: 2017-02-02
  • Collection: Scholastic UK
  • Total Download: 2971
  • Total Read: 4767

Télécharger Lire


Picture a world where every significant moment is tattooed on your skin for ever. When Leora's father dies, she knows he deserves to have all his tattoos removed and made into a Skin Book to record his good life. But when she discovers that his ink has been edited and his book is incomplete, she wonders whether knew him at all.

The Weight of Ink

  • Auteur: Rachel Kadish
  • ISBN: 0544866673
  • Date de sortie: 2017-06-06
  • Collection: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
  • Total Download: 7762
  • Total Read: 3912

Télécharger Lire


An intellectual and emotional jigsaw puzzle of a novel for readers of A. S. Byatt’s Possession and Geraldine Brooks’s People of the Book Set in London of the 1660s and of the early twenty-first century, The Weight of Ink is the interwoven tale of two women of remarkable intellect: Ester Velasquez, an emigrant from Amsterdam who is permitted to scribe for a blind rabbi, just before the plague hits the city; and Helen Watt, an ailing historian with a love of Jewish history. As the novel opens, Helen has been summoned by a former student to view a cache of seventeenth-century Jewish documents newly discovered in his home during a renovation. Enlisting the help of Aaron Levy, an American graduate student as impatient as he is charming, and in a race with another fast-moving team of historians, Helen embarks on one last project: to determine the identity of the documents’ scribe, the elusive “Aleph.” Electrifying and ambitious, sweeping in scope and intimate in tone, The Weight of Ink is a sophisticated work of historical fiction about women separated by centuries, and the choices and sacrifices they must make in order to reconcile the life of the heart and mind.

Spilling Ink A Young Writer s Handbook

  • Auteur: Ellen Potter
  • ISBN: 1429933216
  • Date de sortie: 2010-05-29
  • Collection: Flash Point
  • Total Download: 1007
  • Total Read: 4987

Télécharger Lire


LEARN HOW TO WRITE LIKE THE EXPERTS, FROM THE EXPERTS. In Spilling Ink: A Young Writer's Handbook, you'll find practical advice in a perfect package for young aspiring writers. After receiving letters from fans asking for writing advice,accomplished authors Anne Mazer and Ellen Potter joined together to create this guidebook for young writers. The authors mix inspirational anecdotes with practical guidance on how to find a voice, develop characters and plot, make revisions, and overcome writer's block. Fun writing prompts will help young writers jump-start their own projects, and encouragement throughout will keep them at work.

Indelible Ink The Trials of John Peter Zenger and the Birth of Americas Free Press

  • Auteur: Richard Kluger
  • ISBN: 0393245470
  • Date de sortie: 2016-09-13
  • Collection: W. W. Norton & Company
  • Total Download: 2703
  • Total Read: 4814

Télécharger Lire


The untold story of the battle to legalize free expression in America by the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Ashes to Ashes. The liberty of written and spoken expression has been fixed in the firmament of our social values since our nation’s beginning—the government of the United States was the first to legalize free speech and a free press as fundamental rights. But when the British began colonizing the New World, strict censorship was the iron rule of the realm; any words, true or false, that were thought to disparage the government were judged a criminally subversive—and duly punishable—threat to law and order. Even after Parliament lifted press censorship late in the seventeenth century, printers published what they wished at their peril. So when in 1733 a small newspaper, the New-York Weekly Journal, printed scathing articles assailing the new British governor, William Cosby, as corrupt and abusive, colonial New York was scandalized. The paper’s publisher, an impoverished printer named John Peter Zenger with a wife and six children, in fact had no hand in the paper’s vitriolic editorial content—he was only a front man for Cosby’s adversaries, New York Supreme Court Chief Justice Lewis Morris and the shrewd attorney James Alexander. Zenger nevertheless became the endeavor’s courageous fall guy when Cosby brought the full force of his high office down upon it. Jailed for the better part of a year, Zenger faced a jury on August 4, 1735, in a proceeding matched in importance during the colonial period only by the Salem Witch Trials. In Indelible Ink, acclaimed social historian Richard Kluger re-creates in rich detail this dramatic clash of powerful antagonists that marked the beginning of press freedom in America and its role in vanquishing colonial tyranny. Here is an enduring lesson that resounds to this day on the vital importance of free public expression as the underpinning of democracy.

Knives Ink

  • Auteur: Isaac Fitzgerald
  • ISBN: 1632861224
  • Date de sortie: 2016-10-18
  • Collection: Bloomsbury Publishing USA
  • Total Download: 4931
  • Total Read: 8161

Télécharger Lire


From the authors of Pen & Ink--New York Times bestselling illustrator Wendy MacNaughton and BuzzFeed books editor Isaac Fitzgerald--the stories behind the tattoos that chefs proudly wear, with their signature recipes. Chefs take their tattoos almost as seriously as their knives. From gritty grill cooks in backwoods diners to the executive chefs at the world's most popular restaurants, it's hard to find a cook who doesn't sport some ink. Knives & Ink features the tattoos of more than sixty-five chefs from all walks of life and every kind of kitchen, including 2014 James Beard Award-winner Jamie Bissonnette, Alaska-fishing-boat cook Mandy Lamb, Toro Bravo's John Gorham, and many more. Each tattoo has a rich, personal story behind it: Danny Bowien of Mission Chinese Food remembers his mother with fiery angel wings on his forearms, and Dominique Crenn of Michelin two-starred Atelier Crenn bears ink that reminds her to do "anything in life that you put your heart into.Â?? Like the dishes these chefs have crafted over the years, these tattoos are beautiful works of art. Knives & Ink delves into the wide and wonderful world of chef tattoos and shares their fascinating backstories, along with personal recipes from many of the chefs.

Indian Ink

  • Auteur: Miles Ogborn
  • ISBN: 0226620425
  • Date de sortie: 2008-11-15
  • Collection: University of Chicago Press
  • Total Download: 3729
  • Total Read: 5376

Télécharger Lire


A commercial company established in 1600 to monopolize trade between England and the Far East, the East India Company grew to govern an Indian empire. Exploring the relationship between power and knowledge in European engagement with Asia, Indian Ink examines the Company at work and reveals how writing and print shaped authority on a global scale in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries. Tracing the history of the Company from its first tentative trading voyages in the early seventeenth century to the foundation of an empire in Bengal in the late eighteenth century, Miles Ogborn takes readers into the scriptoria, ships, offices, print shops, coffeehouses, and palaces to investigate the forms of writing needed to exert power and extract profit in the mercantile and imperial worlds. Interpreting the making and use of a variety of forms of writing in script and print, Ogborn argues that material and political circumstances always undermined attempts at domination through the power of the written word. Navigating the juncture of imperial history and the history of the book, Indian Ink uncovers the intellectual and political legacies of early modern trade and empire and charts a new understanding of the geography of print culture.
DMCA - Contact